Continue We want you to get the most out of using this website, which is why we and our partners use cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to receive these cookies. You can find out more about how we use cookies here.

Thursday, 28 May 2015

Lamb masters the elements to land club’s junior title

PLAYED over 36 holes in atrocious weather conditions, captain Chris Lamb lifted the Junior Club Championship at Hexham.

In a purple patch for the junior skipper, Lamb took the championship and Fred Stephenson Trophy with a combined best gross score of 159, while also winning the I. Waugh Trophy for the best gross 18 hole score.

The success continued to flow for Lamb, the elder brother of Matty, as he lifted the Cregan Trophy with a combined 36 hole gross score of 144.

In the junior championship, Joseph Robson took the prize for the best overall nett score of 159 while also winning the U15 Trophy for his gross score of 173. Ross Donaldson won the Alpha Claret Jug Trophy with a gross score of 184.

Dan Del Prete won the Lambert Trophy with the best nett score of 133, also taking the Macdonald/Burrows/Lyons Trophy for the best U15 gross score of 167.

In the Annual Andy Paisley’s Day, James Cram won with 40 points with Matty Lamb (39) second and Bryan S. Robson (38) third.

Elsewhere in the men’s section, Jonathon Richardson (70-1-69) won Division One of the August Thursday Medal on countback from Alan Borthwick (80-11-69). Kim Steward (76-6-70) was third.

In Division Two, M. Barney Jones (95-24-71) also needed countback as he edged out Michael Lee (85-14-71). John List (93-20-73) was third.

Division One of the Thursday Stableford was won by Stephen Brown (41) ahead of W. Murray Magowan (38) and Mark Fletcher (38).

In Division Two, John Burgess (38) finished ahead of Paul Rock (36) and George Whitfield (35).

In the Ethel Cunliffe Trophy contested by lady members, Paula Forster and Jennifer Herrman (38) were victorious. In second was Val Robinson and Fran Phillipson (36) with Sue Shaw Toomey and Lorraine Pratt (35) third.

Kevin Glendinning (79-10-69) was the winner of the Men’s Rose Bowl at Bellingham as he finished ahead of runner-up William Dunn (83-13-70).

The Ladies’ Rose Bowl winner was Lorna Thornton (33), while Pat Batey (32) was second.

The David Curry Junior Trophy winner was Jeffrey Wealleans (95-28-67), ahead of Michael Arnup (92-21-71), while the Harry Glass Junior Trophy winner was Dominic Rapier (39). Jeffrey Wealleans (36) was second.

Di Hutchinson (35) had the accolade of winning the Ladies Past Captains’ Quaich, ahead of Jo Dickson (30).

The Stableford Cup qualifiers were David Scott (40), John Roberts (38), Alec Jones (38), Michael Davison (36), Alec Jones (34) and C.J. Henderson (32).

The Medal Cup qualifiers were Dominic Rapier (75-5-70), Alec Jones (74-4-70), Jack Johnstone (82-14-68) and Tim Cameron (82-14-68).

The best gross score recorded at Tynedale’s three person Texas Scramble, the Cafe Enna Open, was the trio of Steve Plemper jnr, Tristram Douglas (both Tynedale) and Prudhoe’s Michael Tunbull with 61.

Host member Tony Hornsby and Hexham pals Martin Lowes and Ian Crawford (58.4) recorded the best gross score.

Following behind was Johnny Dodd and Jayne Jones, both Tynedale, with Prudhoe guest Wayne Phillipson (59), with Tynedale trio Martin Lamb, Colin Varty and Mo Elliott (60) third.

Martin Lowes recorded the longest drive on the 17th hole, with Wayne Phillipson longest on the 14th and Steve Plemper jnr longest on the ninth. Scott Palmer was nearest the pin on the seventh.

Elsewhere at Tynedale, Ken Mewse (67-5-62) left everybody in his slipstream as he scooped the George Robson Trophy.

Jayne Jones (34) won the Ladies’ Rose Bowl, ahead of Joyce Wood (29) and Anne Scott (29).

There has been a flurry of activity within Prudhoe’s veterans section recently with The Don Hepple Memorial competition fiercely contested.

After countback was needed, the winner was named as Danny Morrison (37) as he just pipped Stuart Briggs (37) to the prize. Brian Hedley (36) was third.

The Bill Leadbitter Salver saw a superb score of 41 points from the winner Alan Dunn, followed by equally impressive scores from Jerry Weatherhead (39) and David McMillan (38).

After a number of rounds, the George Bruce knock-out event was finally won by Michael Robson after a very closely fought final match against Malcolm Ward.