Continue We want you to get the most out of using this website, which is why we and our partners use cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to receive these cookies. You can find out more about how we use cookies here.

Thursday, 28 May 2015

Denis wins by a whisker

HAYDON Bridge resident Denis Bell will be sporting a new look after winning the President's Putter at Hexham.

Edging out fellow Haydonian Joseph Tulip on countback, Bell (75-11-64) will soon be clean shaven as he had previously said he wouldn’t shave his beard until he won a club competition.

The win was unexpected for Bell as he had agreed to play Santa at the local children’s Christmas party!

But he rolled back the years to card a wonderful nett of 64, the score just pipping Tulip (76-12-64) to the top prize.

A close third was Gordon Simpson (80-15-65).

Allendale champion Richie Rutherford secured one of the best of his many club championship victories by playing each of the two rounds in a one-under-par 66.

His 132 put him 10 ahead of Dan Newman, after the latter had challenged strongly with a fine 68 in the first round. Robin Down was third with (78 +74 =152).

More than 170 golfers enjoyed Kevin Honeybell’s Captain’s Day at Stocksfield, where Les Smith (45) earned victory. Second was Tony Tailford (41), closely followed by Ian Stroyan (41).

The best senior was Bert Garrow (40), Martyn Henderson (38) best past captain, Sam Joyce (42) best junior and Richie Armstrong (39) best guest.

The 16th Fred Punshon Competition was won by Gordon McArthur (43) followed by Keith Aldworth (40). Next up were Garry Thomson (38) and Sam Wilkinson (38).

Chris and Liz Hartley were the winners of The Hutchinson Trophies mixed competition with an excellent nett of 65.4, followed by David Mole and Judith Wilson and David and Diane Harvey, both with 68.6.

The Frank Blackburn Trophy played for by the veterans section at Prudhoe was won by popular member Richard Hannam with a superb nett 66 score.

He was closely followed by Jim Westgarth, John McKillup and Alan Rutherford, who were separated on countback after all carding 67. McKillup, not to be outdone, subsequently won the Prudhoe Senior Shield bogey competition with a very impressive score of 5 up to pip Trevor Smith (3 up) and David Hurst and David McMillan (2 up).

The latest captain's charity day was a three man team event, with best two scores counting, and the trio of Norman Hurst, George Gainford and Cliff Thompson romped home with 91 points.

In second was Fred Dawson, David France and Terry Sutton (89) and Ron Herbertson, Derrick Younger and Kevin Graham (87) were third.

Colin Gilhespy (70-8-62) was the winner of The Charlton Trophy at Tynedale, finishing three ahead of runner-up Colin Varty on 83-18-65 and Norman Nichols on 84-18-66.