Continue We want you to get the most out of using this website, which is why we and our partners use cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to receive these cookies. You can find out more about how we use cookies here.

Friday, 22 May 2015

Cook serves up a victory at veterans’ tournament at Prudhoe

COUNTBACK was needed to separate the top three in the Prudhoe veterans Invitation Day after a close contest was played out.

With half the 30 pairs carding scores of 40 or more, the 45 points accumulated by Bob Cook and his Ryton guest Benny Gillings saw them emerge triumphant.

Also recording 45s were Larry Hindmarsh and Tynedale’s Ritchie Kendrick, in second place, and Michael Robson and Stocksfield’s Bill Walker in third over the back nine holes.

Meanwhile, Prudhoe golfer John McKillup was rewarded for sinking a rare hole in one - he will receive a limited edition watch in recognition of holing his tee-shot.

The 62-year-old scored the ace on the 176-yard, par three 13th at his home club to earn the exclusive BOSS H1 watch.

Over in the Journal qualifier and medal in the ladies’ section, Lila Haddow (106-27-79) was victorious as she staved off the attention of runner-up Susan Southern (103-24-79).

Southern (109-24-85) pushed on to win the Val Barton trophy as she finished ahead of Wendy Oubridge (112-25-87).

The Muscular Dystrophy trophy was won by Margaret Kennington (88-14-74), with M. Fulton (96-18-78) second on countback from Leslie Birkett (105-27-78).

Prudhoe Ladies won their Shield match with Newbiggin 6-1 but suffered a 4-3 loss to Ponteland.

Roy Duncan (64) claimed a double at Stocksfield as he won the July Medal and the veteran’s trophy.

He narrowly beat Don Stapleton, Stephen Atkinson and Anthony Digirolamo who all finished with a nett score of 65.

The 14th Fred Punshon competition was won by Sam Wilkinson (40) with Colin Rainbow snr (40) second and Anthony Digirolamo, Alan Davison, Jeff Hird and Martin Wilkinson (38) tied in third.

Les Palmer’s President’s Day mixed competition was won by the pairing of Chris and Liz Hartley (49), this was followed by Peter Blackburn and Alice Stroyan, Les Smith and Val Michael and David and Linda Soulsby (47).

In the latest Thursday Medal at Hexham, Division One was won by James Rainford (70-5-65) ahead of Mark Fletcher (78-10-68) and Richard A. Dodd (75-6-69).

Division Two was won by Paul Shrimpton (84-17-67), with Geoffrey Harrison (86-18-68) second and John Rose (84-15-69) third.

The Robb Trophy Medal was won by Richard B. Walker (79-13-66). Andrew Douglas (75-6-69) was second on countback from Stephen Sisterson (79-10-69).

In the Connell Salvers, Ian Paxton and David Parkins won with a combined score of 5up. Andy Douglas and Stephen Sisterson (3up) took second place from Steve Armitt and Peter Owen (3up).

In the ladies’ section’s Medal 6, the Silver Division was won by Joan Abraham (93-19-74) while Anne Suddes (92-17-75) took second and Sue Crawford (88-10-78) third.

In the Bronze Division, Paula Forster (93-22-71) was triumphant ahead of Lyndall Wallace (113-36-77) and Judy Hall (100-22-78).

The Joan Swan Trophy was won by Paul Forster with a combined two round score of 147. Joan Abraham (155) was second and Suzanne Phillips (158) was third.

Ritchie Kendrick (45) won the Walter Cowperthwaite Trophy at Tynedale, finishing ahead of Ray Bewick (44) and Dean Roberts (42).

The trio of Linda Murray and Alston guests Yung Me Butterworth and Ann Parkin (66) needed countback to lift the Ladies’ Open team event.

Margaret Howell, Rita Barber and Stocksfield guest Val Michael (66) were a close second, while Edna Robson and her Haltwhistle team-mates Carole Mortimer and Ann Cantel took third spot with a fine 68.

When Tynedale ladies visited Parklands for their away day, Linda Murray (29) came away with the glory as she finished ahead of Anne Scott (27) and Joyce Wood (25). Murray also recorded the longest drive while Margaret Heads was nearest the pin.

Bellingham Golf Club will host their first Pro-Am competition on Tuesday, September 9.

The event will be a shotgun start at 11.30am and will feature a maximum of 20 teams of three amateurs and a PGA professional.

There is a limited opportunity for entries to be accepted, on a first come first served basis.