Continue We want you to get the most out of using this website, which is why we and our partners use cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to receive these cookies. You can find out more about how we use cookies here.

Tuesday, 26 May 2015

Celebrations for the juniors

CRICKET: CORBRIDGE Cricket Club’s juniors celebrated one of their most successful seasons ever with a lively end of season awards night.

Despite the wettest summer on record, a few matches were squeezed between the showers and it allowed Corbridge to shine.

The U15 clinched the West Tyne League, while the U11 won the Knock-Out Cup.

Both U13 teams finished as runners-up in their divisions of the Northumberland Junior Cricket League, and the club narrowly lost in the U13 Northumberland County Cup Final to Tynemouth.

The club ran six junior league teams in 2012, as well as starting a girls U13 team who played in Lady Taverners festivals.

Winning the Noel Dixon and Gus Genner memorial awards for most promising young cricketers in the Over 11 and 11-and-under sections were Peter Levingston-Smith and Joe Anderson.

Peter also claimed the trophy for best batting averages in the U15 squad, Fergus Oliver best bowler and Chris Todd overall best player.

The player of the year trophy for the U18 team went to George Ridley, and Will Gascoigne was presented with the captain’s award. Doug McKendrick was best batsman and David Cook was best bowler.

The best batting trophy for the U13 A squad went to Matthew Percival, and Daniel Dunkerley was presented with the prize for best bowling.

The Fielder Extraordinaire was named as Matt Pugh, with Alfie Clouston the best all-rounder.

In the B squad, Tom Scott was best batsman and Daniel Craigie best bowler. Aaron Smith was crowned player of the year while Jake Smurthwaite was most impoved.

Best batting figures in the U13 girls squad was Tabitha Burnett, with Katy Thomas scooping the bowling equivalent. Player of the Year was Annie Anderson, and Olivia Railton was most improved.

Hamish Burnett was the Year 6 squad’s best batter, and Christian Chomse their star bowler. Daisy Oliver was player of the year and Isobel Chaudhry most improved.

In the Year 5 squad, the best batting trophy was awarded to Finn Garrett-Jowsey and the bowling prize went to Charles Downs.

Dan Thomas was player of the year, while fielding awards went to Ben Dykins and Josh Trewhitt, and Tom Murphy, Charlie Trim and Hector Hawkins were credited as the club’s most improved players.

Angus Buchanan displayed the best attitude in the U9 squad, Callum Pallister was deemed as most improved player, and James Percival and Corey Dover shared the player of the year award.